Everyone, prepare your eyes. I’m about to mini-rant. It’ll be short and sweet, don’t worry. I just had like 1.5 things to say.

Now today, I was supposed to go to a whole slew of college admission receptions that I had to miss because I was sick. However, I didn’t want to miss out on learning the information so I entrusted my dad to go in my stead and report back to me with all the answers to the questions I had.

I would like to preface this semi-rant with a story: when I was about 7, my parents and I went to India and while we were there, my mom decided to consult a priest/fortune-teller guy. In Indian culture, this is basically the person that predicts and advises about topics like when two people should get married and when couples should have children and things of that nature. So we visited this guy, he gave my mom two rings to wear for life, and then proceeded to inform her about how I would be when I grew up. I believe the prediction was somewhere along the lines of smart, but easily distracted. 

I think that’s pretty accurate. I do well in school because I care. If I don’t study, I don’t magically have the answers. But I also know that I’m not the best at doing everything I’m supposed to do without a few digressions [ read “digressions” as: YouTube videos and KPOP marketing analyses].  I mean, I run a blog based around fangirling…isn’t that the epitome of teenage distraction?

So anyways, my dad comes back from these events and one of them was from essentially the best school I got into. I wasn’t planning on attending (not that I’ve committed anywhere else yet either) but I was still interested. And after he showed me the cool canvas bag they gave out and talked about the million and one different opportunities there were for computer science and entrepreneurship (which I’m not doing, by the way), he finally gave me all the answers to the questions I was waiting for. All in all, the answers (basically about pre-med, which I am doing) just told me what I already learned from the internet and didn’t change my mind about the school.

What was interesting (and slightly annoying), was the conversation after. My dad is probably the biggest extrovert ever, and as a result somehow manages to find battalions of dads and moms to talk to about college admissions and their children (unfortunately, me) during college events. I’m not ungrateful or anything (because I do appreciate that he cares), but most of the information is just comparing me to other people, which is relatively not helpful in the grand scheme of things.

Anyways, he’s telling me about this kid who got into Harvard and isn’t going because he’s committing to the school of that reception. The kid wants to go into computer science and is basically paying the same either way, so he’s going to this overall amazing (but not Harvard) school. And it made sense, for him. I’m planning on making a similar decision (with my own list of schools). He chose a school that would get him a great job with a 3.0 GPA; I’m planning on turning down a school that would not get me into med school with the same 3.0 GPA. Simple.

That wasn’t really what bothered me. What bothered me was that it was brought to my attention that this kid was an Intel semifinalist or something and taught Quantum Physics to kids (mad props to him), and moreover that I should have done that.

Intelligence isn’t the same for everyone. No two people think the same way. I’m, for better or for worse, a rote memorizer first and a deep learner second. And that’s just how it is for me. But once I crack through the memorizing part, I can usually understand topics really well.

I like learning, I do. I even like school, most of the time. I just don’t like learning things I don’t care about. In my free time as an underclassman, I never looked into National Science Competitions and all these things that kids are doing these days. I just did the things I loved: I read, I watched YouTube videos, I danced a lot, volunteered a few summers at the nursing home.

My point is that everyone is different. You don’t have to be an Intel SemiFinalist or an accomplished pianist to find an amazing college to get into. Everything will work out, and you (and I, hopefully) will figure out where we belong.

-FangirlingForGood

(Disclaimer: If I sound like a brat, I’m sorry. But this is a rant. What did you really expect?)

**Fun Fact: My senior quote was “In my defense, I was left unsupervised.” I think it fits me really well. **

