I read the novel Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher when I was in the middle of my middle school bookworm craze. I was reading books all the time, and out of all the books I read, this book was one that always stood out to me. I must have been about 11 when I read this book, and it honestly touched my heart immensely. The topic of suicide was not completely foreign to me; I’d watched movies and seen suicide prevention videos in school. However, fiction always managed to convey a message for me better than any information video could.

When I found out this was becoming a Netflix series (nearly 6 years later), I was excited. My excitement particularly stemmed from Selena Gomez producing it, as I was a huge fan of hers when I was growing up (I say as if I’m completely grown up now).

After watching all thirteen episodes, all I can say is: wow. So well done. The way it was filmed, the portrayal of the storyline, the characters and the actors, everything. Wow. 10/10

Some people didn’t like the ending, because it was kind of setting up for another season, but I didn’t mind that much. The book had a different ending, but was sort of open-ended as well. And I never thought about what would happen when the tapes reached the thirteenth person when I was 11, but now I’m glad that they addressed it (at least somewhat) in the netflix series.

One of the best things about Netflix series in general is that they remove barriers of filter. Unlike when a show is on a network television channel, shows that are made by Netflix can basically address whatever topics they want in graphic detail. So this show, a show that talks about suicide and sexual assault and lots of terrible things, is really able to unforgivingly portray Hannah Baker’s story. And I think that’s exactly what this novel needed.

The way this way shot… the past and present blended together seamlessly. I haven’t read the book in years, which was actually perfect because I didn’t remember all of the stories that well, only remembering bits and pieces like her job at the movie theater and something about a car accident.

Because of that, for me and a lot of people my age, this netflix series was familiar and enticing and exciting. Most of my friends binge-watched it in 2 days, and the rest are in the process of watching it now.

Honestly, I think everyone (okay, maybe wait until a kid is in middle school at least) should watch this. It starts conversations that need to be had, and the acting and videography is just brilliant.

I hope it can help those that need help, and help everyone else help those that need it.

-FangirlingForGood

