The GSA Conference

The other day, I was fortunate enough to be a part of my school’s GSA (gay-straight alliance) conference. It was held by my school’s GSA club and sponsored by the Amnesty International chapter of our school (aka the club I’m a part of). It was basically a discussion of terms used for sexuality and gender as well as a forum for people to ask questions and talk about their experiences.

It was really eye-opening, in my opinion, to see so many people come out and show support or try to learn more about sexuality and gender. I was surprised at myself for how much I did and didn’t know. I was proud, that because of shows like Glee and Shadowhunters, I was able to give a lot of examples of characters who were asexual, gay, bisexual, transgender, etc.

I listened to people describe their experiences of trying to speak Spanish and being forced to use the pronouns they were born with, of people giving their opinions and concerns about the transgender bathroom situation.

Sure, there were a few moments when I was like, “These people are only here to troll,” but even then, they were learning too. For example, I always wondered how people with “they/them” pronouns talked in other languages that emphasized masculine and feminine as descriptors and how things like being intersex really worked or what a person who was liked those of their birth sex called their sexuality if they transitioned.

Questions like these pop up on Tumblr or ask.fm all the time but are rarely addressed in real life.

Truly, it was an honor to be a part of the conversation, and I hope society can eventually grow and change to accept everyone, no matter their sexuality or gender or skin tone.

Of course, these are just my two cents.

-FangirlingForGood

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

