My Trip to Oklahoma: An Inaccurate Account

So I went to Oklahoma for approximately 22 hours (not including travel time).

I went on my first connecting flight ever, which wasn’t as complicated and confusing as I thought it would be.

I was going for a college interview, and the trip was mostly an out-of-body experience. Immediately afterwards, I was hit with tons of college news and had a temporary dip in motivation so this is me attempting to summarize what happened:

  • I went on a connecting flight to Washington-Dulles and then OKC, which was fine except the second flight didn’t have any in-flight entertainment or anything. That hasn’t happened to me since maybe 2008, and it’s kind of abnormal for me just because most flights leaving my airport are huge commercial ones, unlike the smaller and older plane we took for the second half.
  • Oklahoma has like no traffic.
  • Arkansas is the one with the really distinct Southern accent.
  • Oklahoma has really really really cheap gas and A LOT of fast food. The university we went to even had a Chick-Fil-A inside.
  • OU is huge, like so huge that I walked maybe 19k steps in one day.
  • People are really friendly in the South.
  • I have never been in a place with so few Indian people (at least while in the United States), and I shouldn’t have felt as unsettled as I did.
  • Starbucks exist everywhere.
  • I don’t want to be an engineer, at least as a long-term career.
  • Most university campuses have liberal faculty, but not necessarily¬†liberal students.
  • People literally switch schools because they aren’t allowed to take more than a certain amount of AP classes.
  • The food at OU is great.
  • On the way back, we had a connecting flight at Chicago O’Hare and it was my first time there. I really liked the connecting terminals (they have an amazing neon light tunnel thing) but it was HUGE and the gates were filled to the brim because of back-to-back flights.
  • I missed BTS at the airport by a day, but hey, that means that I was in the same city as them 2 days in my life (as opposed to 1).
  • I also had margarita pizza (not deep dish) at the airport, and the taxes were insane. I also learned that I really like Starbucks Iced Caramel Macchiato’s (I like Dunkin Donuts more though).
  • Location matters to me.
  • I get self-conscious when my family speaks in Hindi and we’re surrounded by people watching us because they can’t understand what we’re saying.
  • Everything happens for a reason.

-FangirlingForGood

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

