I’m a Coastal Elite.

Yup, that’s right. I admit it. I am a coastal elite, and I know it.

Looking at colleges, I got accepted to a bunch of places all over the country (rejected, too). And so, now I am in the process of choosing which college to attend. As I narrowed down my options, the idea of going to Texas (appealing in November), sounds horrifying and scary now (no offense Texans). I even visited Oklahoma (a detailed account I will post about soon), and realized that while the campuses and the places and the hospital were wonderful, there was just something about it that made me uneasy.

It was, quite simply unfamiliar.

It was weird to walk through a crowd and be the only one speaking a different language.

It was weird to sit in an auditorium and be the only POC in the room.

I realize that the way I’ve been raised and the values I have developed basically make me the epitome of a coastal elite.

I support things like universal healthcare and the right to choose (even though I probably wouldn’t myself) and gender equality.

And I admit, I don’t know much about the economy and how GDP works and why taxes are the rate at which they are. But I want to learn.

I just, I’ve been thinking a lot about where I want to spend the next four-eight years of my life, and I realized how much I need to be surrounded by people that I’m comfortable with, that understand where I’m coming from even if they haven’t been to the same places. And I know, I sound bigheaded and maybe even melodramatic, but even though I want to travel the world and see and experience all these different cultures, I want home to be somewhere that I can be comfortable with myself and find a community that embraces who I am and what I value.

Just some thoughts.

-FangirlingForGood

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

