How does one explain a school where there are 2 girls for every one guy (approximately)?

In the best (or simplest) words I can muster:

My school is one of those weird public schools that specializes in a particular subject (biomedical science//medical health-ish stuff), and as a result, you have to take an entrance exam to get in. As fate (or logistics) would have it, a lot more girls get in than guys. This is probably because most guys try to enter the more math/engineering-focused school in our county (#PromoteGirlsinSTEM) so the pool is uneven to begin with.

Anyways, after three years at my school, a few people drop out, a few come back, a few move, and the rest are the same place they were before (just taller, with more acne and hopefully more connections among their brain cells).

The one thing I really disliked about being in my school was that it was really small. I didn’t really mind that everyone knew everyone or that the building was essentially three long hallways joined together. What I minded was that there were never many options to choose from. And we knew that from the start: in fact, in most aspects, I don’t mind it. I don’t mind that we don’t have a long list of sports and extracurriculars (I do lots of outside-of-school stuff anyways), that I can only really eat pizza or veggie burgers for lunch, or that if I don’t like a teacher or class, I’m stuck with them no matter what. What I minded was that as a result of our small population, when it came to PROM season, the pickings were pretty slim.

With a 65-35 girls-to-guys ratio (more like 7/3 if I’m being honest), there inevitably ends up being a lot of girls who go stag or with their friends. Of course, there are a lot of people who have outside girlfriends or boyfriends or whatever. But, for the guys of the senior class, this is kind of their opportunity to strike. They start talking to girls they never even interacted with until this year; they flirt with 3 or 4 girls at once; they start relationships with the sole purpose of getting a prom date. And girls aren’t victims here; they do it, too. None of them want to go to prom alone, so they engage in the texting, the snapchatting, the constant and sudden interaction when Winter and Spring start rolling around because they want the promposal just as much as the guys need to prompose.

This, I feel like, is a long developed system. And I understand why it exists, really I do. You don’t want to go back to your prom photos from senior year and explain to your children that you could not find a date.

But ultimately, what I never liked was the fact that it seemed like 2 people who were around each other as classmates for 3 whole years suddenly took an “interest” (usually not there tbh) so that they could have a relationship come time for prom. It just didn’t sit well with me, and I didn’t like the idea of being with someone just so I could have a prom date.

So now, as the promposals come flooding in, I’m looking forward to kicking my heels up and relaxing: watching and smiling as girls get the promposals they want and guys come up with overly cheesy things to say.  And I know I’m in the minority, but I can’t wait to go to Prom with my friends and enjoy the night with people I’ll 110% be sure to talk to and remember 20 years from now. What’s the point of Prom if I’m not spending it with people I love and care about, right?

(And no, I really don’t want to secretly be asked: in fact, the best promposal would be from my best friends who actually know me…also I can just persuade my guy friends to take pictures with me if the whole “prom photo” thing is such a big deal).

-FangirlingForGood

