Productivity: Ultimate Highs and Unthinkable Lows

Not everyone can be productive all of the time. It’s just not possible. I mean, in theory it is possible, but it’s certainly not healthy or something that could be maintained for the long term.

But at the same time, no one can be unproductive all of the time. At some point, you have to look at yourself and say, what are you doing, get your butt out of bed and get to work. That’s why, for all of the Fridays and Saturdays spent doing nothing and ignoring our responsibilities, students somehow get their act together by Sunday afternoon and work like maniacs to get all of their assignments done.

As a second semester senior, I’m very much at the point in my life where I could easily slack off and do nothing. But, there’s always things I could be doing, tests I could be studying for, decisions I could be making.

I used to always wish for a week where I would have absolutely nothing to do: where my only job was to sit around and do nothing and waste time, just because I always felt like I never had time to do that. Even in the summer, I would always fill up my days with work, whether that be in the form of summer programs or lab experience or volunteering. And in those rare days when I would have nothing to do, I would see the day pass by without me realizing it. I was living, but not existing.

So now, even though I’m exhausted from changing time zones and returning to dance classes and trying to learn to drive, I’m going to stop existing, and start living.

(and hopefully, because I wrote it down and posted it, I’ll actually follow through).

-FangirlingForGood

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

