In an alternate universe, I want to be a marketing analyst.

Yah, I said it. I don’t want to be a rock star or an actress or the president of the United States. I want to be an analyst that specializes in media and marketing.

Let me explain:

I really like figuring out patterns and why things work. It’s one of the reasons I like science so much, and it’s also why I tend to overthink life 150% of the time.

Also, when I stan a band, one of my favorite things to do is figure out why they’re so good and how they’re staying good.

So naturally, I would want a job where all I did all day was look at trends and be like WOAH IF YOU DID THIS YOU’D MAKE A TON OF MONEY OR BECOME REALLY FAMOUS.

In reality, it’s probably a really boring job. But in my head, it sounds really cool.

I basically do it already, anyways.

Take BTS, for example. I’ve been following them for maybe 4 months now, and I’ve started to notice why they (1) have so many international fans and (2) they keep getting more and more popular. They know exactly how to market themselves, or at least their managers do. I actually really want to meet them and talk to them about how they figure all of this stuff out because it’s really interesting.

BTS (it’s like a kpop band thing if you’re unaware) somehow finds a way to release new content EVERY.SINGLE.DAY. Or at least, it seems that way. Everyday, there’s a new cover coming out or appearance on a tv show or BangtanBomb (they’re like vlogs) being uploaded. It’s a steady, unyielding stream of constant content. The way in which KPOP is set up is that everything revolves around when an artist releases a new song, during which point they spend a few weeks going around and performing at every music show they can. Between that and awards shows, idols are basically working on music, acting, or whatever else it is that they do. BTS is a little different in the sense that they have

It’s a steady, unyielding stream of constant content. The way in which KPOP is set up is that everything revolves around when an artist releases a new song, during which point they spend a few weeks going around and performing at every music show they can. Between that and awards shows, idols are basically working on music, acting, or whatever else it is that they do. BTS is a little different in the sense that they have vlogs of everything, and they release vlogs of events from a month ago on days when there is no broadcast or new content to be shown. They constantly update their twitter with new little videos and go live on a video streaming app at least once every two or three weeks.

Unlike bands that spend weeks promoting on music shows, BTS does minimal “comeback” performances and talk show appearances, instead opting to fill their time with World Tours and releasing three or four (FOUR?????) albums and mini-albums a year. And because they write their own music, they stand out a little against the crowd already.

Other popular bands of that scope (EXO, Monsta X, Seventeen) don’t publish nearly that much content and so it’s easy to stop the “fangirling” for a few months in between comebacks. BTS capitalizes on 24/7 fangirling, and they manage to always find themselves on the news, in your twitter feed, and in the YouTube subscription box. The fact that they have a small company that will devote all of their resources to them helps as well. They don’t give you an opportunity to step back and come up for air. Once you’re in, it’s hard to get out when that headspace is perpetuated almost constantly.

But what really makes them famous overseas are their English covers. Jungkook, in particular, is known for singing songs in English and uploading them to their Soundcloud. This is the perfect gateway for anyone who wants to get into KPOP, and it makes them infinitely more relatable to fans that don’t speak their language. He even drops sneak peaks of them a month in advance just so that there’s content on that day.

So long story short, I want a job where I get to sit there and say, “Hey BTS! You should release songs here, here, and here. Those days you’re dedicating to learning new choreography? We’re going to release that cover you recorded two months ago and drop a few vlogs from over Christmastime. ”

Or more aptly, I want a job where I get to watch people do that, and then tell them how to do it even better. It’s a lot of analyzation, graphing, and even psychology, but I think I would be really good at it. Of course, I want to be in the medical field more, but I hope parallel-universe me tries it out just to see how she’d do.

-FangirlingForGood

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

