Gender and Sexuality: It’s a Spectrum

I’m not going to sit here and lay out all the facets and aspects of gender, sexuality, pronouns, romantic attraction, and sexual attraction. Google exists for a reason.

I am, however, going to say that I believe in it.

I think that if you want to label yourself, go ahead. If you don’t, then don’t. If you know exactly what you want and what you like, great. If you don’t, also great. If you know what you want to be, great. If you don’t, that’s fine too.

Today, I was having a conversation with a friend (?) of mine (um I guess), and he was saying that he was fine with homosexuality and heterosexuality, but not with transgender people or anything kind of in between (asexual, pansexual, ya get the picture). His reasoning was that he is fine with anyone who knows what they want and what they are. Which I get to like a .5% extent. But the other 99.5% is kind of saying, who are you to decide what they are and are not allowed to be?

To an extent, I know he’s only pulling my hair and trying to annoy me, but that got me to thinking: how many people respect a person’s use of pronouns and their sexuality, etc.? Most people, I would assume, would at least try to use the pronouns a person wants to be called by. But I don’t think many of them would understand or appreciate it.

So where does true progress lie? Is the “stuff in the middle” too gray from people to accept? But how is it that some people are so vehemently against it and some support it so wholeheartedly? Where’s the disconnect, and why?

-FangirlingForGood

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

