Ah, the topic has finally arrived. Today, we are going to talk about boys.

I was very reluctant to put this on the internet, but I realized that if I want to accurately remember senior year, I need to write about all the drama (very superficial that it may be) that occurs.

For the purposes of anonymity, I’m going to be using code names (names that even my friends don’t use):

So essentially, I am a happily single human being. I want to be single and carefree and cherishing all the time with my friends as I can before we all go our separate ways. I figure that any real or meaningful relationship won’t happen until college (at least for me) anyways. So the whole “lets hit on as many people as possible to get a prom date” was never something I planned to do, or wanted to be a part of.

Distantly, I was aware that I could be roped into this whole thing, as I definitely talk to a decent amount of people of the opposite gender. However, I was really really  hoping that I wouldn’t have to deal with it. I legitimately wanted to and still want to take my best friends to prom. It will be 10 times more fun, and a 1000 times less awkward.

So currently, there is a male, who I will name Jeremy. Jeremy is kind of a prick. He’s ‘glowed up’ though, and is now like 8 inches taller than me, which is unfair. He does not share my political views (on most things), is very annoying (he’s improved), and got to where he is in a less than moral way (which I firmly am against).

Said person is kind of my friend? I guess we’re friends. But said person is planning to ask me to prom, and I really wish he didn’t. He’s currently also considering asking two of my other friends (PLEASE), and he is definitely believing in the whole get-a-girlfriend-before-prom scheme. Which I understand.

In twenty years, he probably wants to show his kids a picture of his prom, where he’s looking nice next to some pretty or at least nice-looking girl.

In twenty years, if I get married or have kids, I would show my kids pictures of all the amazing friends I have that taught me the value of happiness and laughter and life-appreciation.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that I want to go to prom, really I do, but I don’t want him to ask me. I would rather not get asked to prom than get asked to prom and have to turn him down or go out of guilt.

Basically, I’m a superficial teenager going through a minor dilemma. And I really thought about it, and I don’t like this person in ‘that’ way. I definitely can’t be forced into having such feelings either, but I just don’t want to have to deal with this situation, ya know?

This is more of a log of these events than anything else. I guess my purposeful attempts to avoid getting involved with people in my school (for reasons that involve everything from personality to career orientation to world views) aren’t working as well as I hoped.

Ah well. [AND WHAT’S REALLY ANNOYING IS THAT I WAS GETTING SENT SNAPCHATS WHILE WATCHING BTS OKAY HE CAN’T BEAT JUNGKOOK HE JUST CAN’T] [AND ALSO HE WAS PREVENTING ME FROM GOING INTO ALL OUT STUDY MODE DURING FREE PERIOD WHICH WAS SO ANNOYING BECAUSE I NEEDED TO WORK AND I COULDN’T GET HIM TO LEAVE]

Yah, I need this situation to resolve itself. Jeremy, please, please, please, wreak your havoc on someone who actually wants a date to prom.

-FangirlingForGood

