Emotions.

According to my personality type (ISFJ), I “suppress emotions” because they’re too difficult to deal with.

And I think that to an extent, that’s true.

I don’t process information very well in the sense that if something amazing happens, I’ll be happy, but if something negative happens, I will usually just accept it and move on.

However, the fact that I’m not bursting into tears when I don’t get into something or that I don’t let emotions like jealousy affect how I interact with others is apparently abnormal. Maybe I’m not emotionally mature enough to handle situations properly, maybe I need a therapist (actually, studies show that everyone should go see a therapist), maybe I’m normal and it’s just some stupid website.

I don’t make it my life’s mission to be negative all the time or positive all the time, but I wonder if I’m supposed to feel more than I do. I’m not depressed or anything, at least I don’t think I am, but I wonder if, as Hermoine so eloquently put it, “I have the emotional range of a teaspoon.”

I know that I laugh at jokes that aren’t funny, and don’t laugh at things other people find hilarious. I know that I cry in movies almost as a rule and that I have no shame in singing loudly and terribly in front of other people. I know that I value my mental well being over everything else, so I always try to do what makes me happy.

I guess I’m just wondering if there’s a set way to react to rejection or negative events in my life. I’ve had my fair share of anxiety and moodiness (the norm of teenagers these days it seems), but when it comes to the really sad stuff, I just hear the information, accept it and move on. I realized that I’ve been doing this for a long time. Years ago, when my dad got diagnosed with prostate cancer, I basically said, “oh, okay.” I was almost indifferent. I cared of course, but I didn’t cry and I didn’t really process the information. Even now, I feel like I don’t process the big hardships in life. I wonder if that’s an asset or a hindrance. I’m sure it will be good for when I’m a doctor and will have to face death’s doorstep every day. But for now, is this character trait a flaw, a weakness, or neither?

-FangirlingForGood

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

