How to make Chai: For the non (or bad) Indians of the World

It’s come to my attention that people don’t know how to make Chai properly.

Starbucks Chai DOESN’T COUNT.

Here are simple directions to make Chai: (serves like 2-3)

  1. Fill a pot with 1-1.5 cups of water.
  2. Put the pot on the stove at a high heat. Take ginger and grate it into the water. The more you put in, the more ginger-y your tea will taste (obviously).
  3. After the water comes to a boil, put slightly less to equal parts milk into the pot. I prefer to use 1% non-organic milk as it just makes it come out better.
  4. Put in the tea leaves. I don’t use tea bags; I use chai leaves that I get from the local Indian grocery store. If you use tea bags, follow the instructions on the box. If you use chai leaves, I use about 1.15 spoons (and I use the spoon that my chai leaves comes with, which I want to say is 1/4 of a cup)
  5. Put in 3 teaspoons of sugar.
  6.  Decrease the heat a little and stir it around a few times.
  7. Don’t turn the stove off until the tea has risen and fallen a few times. That’s what really helps maximize the flavor output.
  8. The most telltale sign is the color: if it isn’t a golden to cork-board-color brown, you need to add some more chai leaves or let it stay on the stove for longer.
  9. Once you deem it’s done, strain and enjoy 🙂

 

***THIS IS JUST HOW MY FAMILY MAKES IT I KNOW SOME PEOPLE ADD MILK AFTER OR ADD DIFFERENT SPICES BUT THIS IS HOW I LIKE IT***

 

-FangirlingForGood

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

